Starch Europe Announces Winners of the 2022-2023 Safety Awards



4 December 2023

BRUSSELS, BELGIUM - The Starch Europe Safety Programme is supported by European starch producers, who strive to continuously improve safety practices and to achieve a safer working environment for their employees. Starch Europe is happy to announce the 6 winners of Safety Awards for the 2022-2023 period.

Launched in 2014, the Starch Europe Safety Programme recognises the best performing EU starch plants in terms of reducing workplace accidents. This showcases the dedication of companies to maintain efforts to reduce the risk of accidents occurring, through the constant exchange of experience and good practices.

As has been the case over the last few years, data collected also covers contractors intervening on production sites in the evaluation, to fully reflect the efforts to secure safe working conditions for every person operating on our sites.

The Starch Europe Safety Programme grants two types of awards:

  • The Year Award – is awarded to plants that registered no employee lost workday cases involving days away from work for the calendar year, and no employee and no non-employee workplace fatalities for the calendar year.
  • The Million Hour Award – is awarded to plants which registered 1 million consecutive employee hours without an employee lost workday case and without a workplace-related fatality of an employee or non-employee during the period.

Data is collected by the Starch Europe secretariat from companies participating on a voluntary basis. The collection of data for the exercise started on 1 July 2014. Starch Europe ensures the validity and consistency of the data provided and reports on eligible plants for each award.

35 of the 73 starch plants in the EU represented by Starch Europe’s 30 member companies, participated in the safety award scheme from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023.

Starch Europe is delighted to announce that the following plants have qualified for an award in the respective categories:

ADM Razgrad, Bulgaria
Roquette Cassano, Italy
Cargill Wroclaw, Poland
ADM Razgrad, Bulgaria
Anora Group Koskenkorva, Finland
Cargill Martorell, Spain

Our congratulations to the winners!


For further information, please contact:

Andreas Delvaux - +32 2 289 67 60 –

December 4, 2023