Starch Europe announces winners of 2018- 2019 Safety Awards



15 November 2019

BRUSSELS, BELGIUM  – The Starch Europe Safety Programme is supported by European starch producers, who strive to continuously improve safety practices and to achieve a safer working environment for their employees. Starch Europe is happy to announce the 15 starch plants which won Safety Awards for the 2018-2019 period.

Through this year’s BeyondStarchcampaign, Starch Europe is proud to focus not only on the industry’s great diversity of ingredients, but also to highlight the growing number of plants becoming eligible for its Safety Programme, and sees this as a clear mark of the European starch industry’s constant efforts on innovation and achieving excellence on all fronts.

The Starch Europe Safety Programme, launched in 2014, recognises the best performing EU starch plants in terms of reducing workplace accidents. This showcases the dedication of companies to maintain efforts to reduce the risk of accidents occurring, through constant exchange of experience and good practices.

The Starch Europe Safety Programme grants two types of awards:

  • The Year Award– is awarded to plants which registered no employee lost workday cases involving days away from work for the calendar year, and no employee and no non-employee workplace fatalities for the calendar year.
  • The Million Hour Award – is awarded to plants which registered 1 million consecutive employee hours without an employee lost workday case and without a workplace-related fatality of an employee or non-employee during the period.

Data is collected by PWC from companies participating on a voluntary basis. The collection of data for the exercise started from 1 July 2014. PWC ensures the validity and consistency of the data provided and reports on eligible plants for each award.

38 of the 73 starch plants in the EU represented by Starch Europe’s 27 member companies, participated in the safety award scheme from 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2019.

Starch Europe is delighted to announce the following eligible companies to the two Award categories:

ADMRazgrad, Bulgaria
CargillKrefeld, Germany
RoquetteBenifayo, Spain
RoquetteCassano, Italy
RoquetteLestrem, France
Tate & LyleKoog aan de Zaan, the Netherland


ADMRazgrad, Bulgaria
CargillBarby, Germany
CargillCastelmassa, Italy
IngredionGoole, United Kingdom
RoquetteAmilina, Lithuania
RoquetteBeinheim, France
RoquetteCassano, Italy
RoquetteCorby, United Kingdom
Tate & LyleBoleraz, Slovakia


Our congratulations to the winners!




For further information, please contact:
Jamie Fortescue – +32 2 289 67 67 –